Snowmobile Safety Courses
Anyone who operates a snowmobile on public riding areas – e.g. trails, frozen waters, routes, permitted county and/or forest lands – who is at least age 12 years of age and who was born on or after January 1, 1985 must have completed a safety certification course. For children under 12 years of age, the certificate does not become valid until the child reaches age 12. These snowmobile operators must carry their safety certification card and they must display it to law enforcement officers when requested.
All Wisconsin recreational safety students are required to obtain a Wisconsin DNR Customer ID Number when registering for a safety education class and must provide that number to their instructor. You can obtain a DNR Customer ID Number by calling the DNR customer service from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. at 1-888-936-7463 or visiting http://dnr.wi.gov
Two snowmobile safety classes are being offered this year. On Saturday, December 8, 2018 from 8 am to 3pm a snowmobile safety course will be offered at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College in Fennimore. On Sunday, December 9, 2018 from 12:30 pm to 7:30 pm a snowmobile safety course will be offered at Nick’s Powersports in Dickeyville. There is an optional material pick-up day on Friday, December 7, 2018 at the Grant County UW-Extension Office from 8 am to 3 pm.
The cost of the course is $10 per student, payable at the door. Registration must be done online at http://dnr.wi.gov/education/outdoorskills/safetyeducation.html by clicking on “Enroll” and searching “Snowmobile” and “Grant County”. Space is limited to the first 20 students to register in each class. Students with special needs must contact the instructor at least two weeks in advance of the course to request special accommodations. If you have questions about the safety courses, contact Kory Stalsberg at 608-988-2006, or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org