From Pinholes to Space Telescopes: Online Workshop for Informal Educators

Published on September 12, 2018 by anna.demers

Please join for a free online workshop all about light, optics, and the evolution of the telescope. Through hands-on activities, forum discussions, and live webinars, you’ll learn about how telescopes use lenses and mirrors to organize light to form images of distant objects. During this workshop, we will explore the behavior of light with a pinhole viewer and lenses of different focal lengths. Then we will construct a simple telescope to see how lenses work together to create usable images. Workshop participants will receive a free optics activity kit, including 20 simple DIY telescope kits for use in educational programs!
AFGU (The Astronomical Society of the Pacific) is offering this workshop in two separate 4-week sessions:
• Fall 2018:
o October 29 – November 16 and November 26 – 30, 2018
o Live sessions at 10am PST /1pm EST on Tuesdays: Oct 30, Nov 6, 13, 27
• Winter 2019:
o January 14 – February 8, 2019
o Live sessions at 4pm PST / 7pm EST on Thursdays: Jan 17, 24, 31, Feb 7

The application deadline for both workshops is October 14. For more information and to apply, see: http://afguonline.org/mod/page/view.php?id=1857